Facebook Security Vulnerability – Is it really that simple?

So last night I received an email invite from some random person on Facebook who I don’t know. These are the sort of emails which I usually receive but hardly pay any heed till this one happened:

Step 1: Received an email on account of some other person – thanks to error correction feature in Gmail.

Email Request Recd

Step 2: Clicked on the email link provided by Facebook and it opened a user’s FB page which was an unauthorized access for me.

I haven’t reproducing this vulnerability by creating a test facebook profile with a erroneous email address but

Step 1: Received an email on account of some other person – thanks to error correction feature in Gmail.
This entry was posted in Security, Web and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facebook Security Vulnerability – Is it really that simple?

  1. I really enjoyed your musings, Blaire! And though I’ve never been to South America, my main character has! He may not believe in magic, but I definite Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

Leave a Reply

